Halloween Makeup walk through #3

So okay, this might be coming a little late this year, but I genuinely didn’t get around to doing any makeup for Halloween this year. Figured better late than never.

So this look is similar to the Pin up Frankie I did last year, but I have done things ever so slightly different this time around. Still super easy to recreate at home, most of the items you will already have in your makeup bag! 

First of all, you need to get a good reference picture, I prefer to use source if I am doing something from a film, book, comic etc so that you are looking at the art in the way it was originally intended. Therefore any changes you make, you are making with full understanding of the original. You are not using someone else’s makeup, which may already have been altered for a variety of reasons, and altering further. If that makes sense. So today, this is the image I was using : 

sally-nbc

Now before we start, here is what I used – Snazaroo face paint in a light blue, 2 shades of blue eye shadow (dark blue in a powder shadow), black and blue liquid liner, mascara. (spray bottle of water for the face paint and makeup brushes) and a wig.

20161127_142402

The first step is to spray up the paint cake, I used a foundation brush to apply out of preference, but a sponge will also work. Apply over all the areas that are visible, face, ears, neck and chest (this will of course depend on what you are wearing.

While you are waiting for the face paint to dry, you can apply lipstick – I used a Colour Pop liquid matt, but anything you have in your bag will do. Once the base is dry, you can start applying the darker blue eye shadow. I used a mineral shadow because the powder is easier to pat onto the face and you don’t run the risk of rubbing your base off. I started around the eyes, roughly following the eyeline. 

20161127_142059

Once this has been completed, I used the blue shadow to underline the stitches – I started on the mouth and worked my way around the face. I did the neck and check last but only because I always find that area more awkward. Once the eye shadow has been applied, I used a combination of black and blue liquid liner (Nyx vinyl) to line the cut and then the crosses to represent the stitches. I also did V shaped lashes on my lower lids.

After all of that is completed, if you are planning on going out, or wearing it for a longer period of time, spray on some finishing spray and you are good to go 🙂 And it really is that simple, I tend to do makeup looks that are simple, easy and mostly use products you have in your makeup bag or cupboard 🙂 

It would be entirely possible to use a blue eye shadow as a base for this makeup, instead of face paint. It certainly wouldn’t be as bright, and might be more wearable. I haven’t tried it out yet but I will update the blog if and when I do!

If you try this out, please let me see! 

20161127_142710

 

Leave a Reply

