Love for Lush

So … this week is Valentine’s day, so I thought.. what could I do.. the AMAZING MothQueen Makeup has put together a gorgeous makeup look (which is pretty much the same direction I would have gone) and here is her video. I then though about pampering, which for obvious reasons, led me to Lush. Lush Northampton to be exact.

10005911_858011914278894_4771324043489482011_o

The moment I walked into the store, I pounced on the poor, unsuspecting Elliott who happened to be near the entrance of the shop. I explained my intentions and direction I was thinking. And he immediately flipped it around. Instead of pampering yourself, why not pamper someone else? Share the love! I loved this idea and we immediately set about picking out some items.

We started with the bath bombs… obviously. Now I am generally a bubble bath kinda girl, the more bubbles the merrier! While I haven’t managed to get them to reach the ceiling – this is not due to lack of trying.. so when he reached for Lover Lamp, I wasn’t entirely on board with his reasoning. It smells divine though, a lovely sweet orange and vanilla scent which isn’t over powering and it has cocoa butter to leave your skin feeling beautiful. Perfect relaxing bath for one .. or two of you if you want to share.

love lamp

Now you could stop there, and I wouldn’t blame you. It is a gorgeous, milky bath that smells good and does good. But it is a special day, so make it that little bit more special – add a bubble bar slice. Now not just ANY one will do… You have to go big or go home … (although I would only recommend using these products in your own home…) UNICORN HORN IS BACK! YES! I have been waiting a year and why not add a third of the horn to your bath? It is the opposite of Lover Lamp, where the former is a pure, milky bath which will help you relax, Unicorn is bright and fun and will combine beautifully to help you feel happy and relaxed. Plus bubbles…. I mentioned the bubbles already didn’t I ? So off to a good start with this combination! 

unicorn horn

Now the next pick was a massage bar – well! What did you expect! There was a lot of debate and discussion about which one to pick, I wanted one that smelt great but wasn’t going to be off putting…  but still so many to choose from! In the end I went with Pearl, it has hints of rose, so perfect for a romantic evening and has ‘pearls’ in the bar itselfl so can be used to invigorate the skin! Perfect! I found the smell was pretty, but not in an over powering way so again it is perfect for most people and will leave your skin smelling beautiful! And you can use in in a few ways, the bars are designed to melt at body temperature so you can use directly on the skin, utilising the ‘pearls’ to help invigorate the skin, or rub between your hands and apply yourself to help the massage become that little bit more tactile.

Pearl_web

Now, by this time we were making our way to the back of the store and wondering what direction to go, and we.. backwards! FACE MASK! Now, if you can’t be silly with the ones that you love…. Personally i use my face masks in the bath, it is the only time I am still enough to enjoy! But given the context of the evening… this may not be advised! Now we decided on Catastrophe Cosmetic – a blueberry clay mask of power. It is a fabulous mask that ticks boxes, a good go to that is kind to most skin types, and will have your skin looking fabulous. So you can go either of 2 ways, you can use this as part of your prep, use the mask a couple of days before to make sure it is flawless for the big night in. Or you can both put the mask on as part of your big night in – it smells great but don’t mistake it for a dip for your corn chips! But if you can sit in the same room with your significant other while both wearing face masks… well! That is love! 

20160201_193301

Now the final part of my collection, lip scrub! I love a good lip scrub! Since I am a biter, I have to make sure my lips are properly prepped when I want to wear lipstick – now keeping in the theme – I picked The Kiss. Now unlike some of their other lip scrubs, which are all sugar… and frankly I spend as much time just licking off as I do scrubbing, The Kiss is a different creature, the scrub itself feels more like Hundreds and Thousands and leaves your lips feeling fantastic and has a little hint of pink. So, I would probably use this more as a prep product.

the kiss

But for a night in, relatively inexpensive, without all the worry of finding a table, will the food be good, what will the atmosphere be like? Just pop into your local lush, pick up these products and plan your own night – candles and alcohol (corn chips) entirely optional and up to person taste! 

I hope you have a fantastic weekend everyone – love you all!

095

P.s on my page and IG account Beautifully Strange Makeup I occasionally have giveaways – they tend to be based on a few of my favourite things – I had a Valentines giveaway for a couple of lucky people. Now, I put together a lush gift set, I swapped out the fresh facemask with a couple from Superdrug (also vegan and cruelty free, check out their own product range) and I popped in The Kiss lip balm to complement the scrub. It was well received and I got the happy glow from making someone happy. Try it sometime, play it forward!

 

 

Leave a Reply

