New Year …. New You ?!

I hate New Year resolutions. I am not the biggest fan of Christmas and it is getting worse with ever passing year. Whereas once it was a lovely time to spend time with family, share gifts to make someone smile. Now there is a lot of pressure, both financial, pressure to find perfect gifts, family members causing additional drama, have you forgotten anyone, getting them posted in good time, work pressures…. Yeah okay, being an adult sucks. 

111023-funny-random-happy-memories

But there are ways of combatting this – to try and remember the good things, positive vibes, even spread some of the positivity around! 

So to keep with the season, I have seen some suggestions about using the 12 days of Christmas to post twelve things that are nice, good, happy, beautiful etc. There have been many incarnations of this – posting a super hero, 3 positive things a day, pictures of baby animals, a week of flowers etc. Not only does it prompt you to look for happy things, seeing it crop up on your news feed will also encourage others. And I feel that the one positive a day, is entirely more manageable than 3 + per day for a week. Sorry, that sounds negative but it might seem a lot for people and stop them from even joining in. And as one friend on my news feed pointed out, it can be anything, including seeing a beautiful sun set/rise.

Sunset Horse Latitudes By The Family Dog

Another thing, that I have enabled in others, is a hope/wish/cheer jar. It comes in many names, and formats. I enjoy glass painting so I have made these for friends before. On New Year’s day, you start writing out on a note, scrap, anything, something happy, positive, something that made your day, made you smile. You pop it in the jar. Now this is a long haul kinda thing, you then keep going all year. And when, like many of us, you are starting to feel the pressure of the last year, all those things you didn’t do, all those resolutions long forgotten, all those missed adventures, you open the jar and all those happy memories are brought back to you. There is nothing stopping you from looking at them throughout the year – It is a personal thing. 

Something else, that I do on my makeup page – giveaways. This has no personal gain for me, although it is a selfish act. I like to see people happy. So every so often I announce a giveaway. It mostly involves makeup (funny that) and anything else that takes my fancy – I don’t plan too far ahead as I want to make sure that the recipient can use it – so I ask for any allergies, dietary restrictions etc. There really isn’t any reason other than I want to make people happy. Often we don’t treat ourselves so having a surprise turn up in the post can make someone smile. I have been lucky enough to make friends out of this so that is another bonus. In the last giveaway, I had a couple of pairs of Wild Bangarang leggings to give away and a voucher for Revenge Wigs which went down really well. 

095

And something else I started this year, well 2 fold, I started writing to pen pals again. It is a lot of fun getting to know people and sending little gifts to each other. It isn’t regular, and can be a while in between but it is always nice to come home to a letter, and making time to stop and read! And there are ‘swap projects’ being organised – some local, or international where you write a short piece, state if you would prefer a local or international partner and write a short bio so your match partner is a good fit but has something to go on when writing to you. I joined the Oh Comely Magazine Perfect Strangers swap project and recently had a care package from my partner. I really enjoyed the whole process – not the bio part of it, because I always end up reading someone else’s and thinking.. WOW they put that so much better. But this particular project is great because it gives you a theme as well as guidance. I loved reading my partners letter, and her stocking was full of amazing things. It was also really nice putting together something for her. And in fact have another little package and letter ready to go out. 

What I am trying to say, is … don’t be hard on yourself, don’t pressure yourself to do or be anything. And it is nice to share and spread the love. Giving to others, even if it is just a postcard, can make you feel good 🙂 

smile-is-the-shortest-distance-between-two-people-quote1

Ps. I will be holding a give away again this week on my page – so comment here or on my page if you are in the UK and interested 🙂

 

And if you do pop over to revenge wigs, use GILL15 for 15% off your total order – Happy Shopping xxx

Leave a Reply

