Reflexology

So … I am not sure if you have ever come accross reflexology, so before i introduce, and indeed review Steve Hunt, here is a brief history, provided on the Association of Reflexologists home page

A brief history of reflexology

Whilst the art of reflexology dates back to Ancient Egypt, India and China, this therapy was not introduced to the West until Dr William Fitzgerald developed ‘Zone therapy’. He believed that reflex areas on the feet and hands were linked to other areas and organs of the body within the same zone.

In the 1930’s, Eunice Ingham further developed this zone theory into what is known as reflexology. Her opinion was that congestion or tension in any part of the foot is mirrored in the corresponding part of the body

foot

Reflexology is a therapy that involves pressure placed on parts of your body, foot, ankle, face and ears. Some of you may had experienced the pressing of pressure points when having facials or even eye brow tidying. 

So really, it is a really, really, in depth foot massage. And who doesn’t … okay… yes.. you, right there in the cream jumper? Sorry! But they are amazing! Sorry you don’t like feet! 

I have had reflexology before, and it has helped me a lot – I have a few problems with my feet, up to, and not excluding my insistence that shoes are evil and spending as much time as possible, barefoot. And now I sound like a hippy… sorry ‘free spirit’ !

As I have said, this was not my first experience of reflexology, but for a few reasons I stopped going, so I jumped at the chance to have a taster evening at my friends home. If you are interested in organising a girls (or boys) night in with a difference, have a look at his home page

Reflexology for me, is like many other treats we use to pamper ourselves, it is about time out, relaxation, switching off. So it is about environment as much as anything else. The reason I would go for a reflexology session over another therapy session is that … it is a more overall well being session. You can of course discuss any target/problem areas, anything that is worrying you. But unlike … say a massage, where you relax but find that it will have concentrated on that sore shoulder, you genuinely feel like you are walking on air after a session of reflexology. 

uk-reflexology-reflexologist

What happens at your first session? Well I had my taster session with Steve at a friend’s home ,so I can’t comment on his usual set up. But he has a reflexology chair (which I joking called expensive garden furniture – whoops) and made an effort to provide a calming environment, candles, soft music, and plenty of cushions and covers to help you stay comfortable. I am one of the worst at relaxing, and will chat or plot, go through my to do list, write blogs, in my mind while  I am supposed to relax. But it is relaxing and you are put at ease. I found that Steve went for a light pressure technique when he was working, unlike my last reflexologist. Neither method is better or worse but it might be something to consider when looking at therapies. In the same way some massage therapy goes deep into those knots, and some just concentrate overall. It will be a personal preference. 

Steve is very knowledgeable, he really does seem to enjoy his job, he explains every step of the process to you, what he is using, the methods, the reasoning, the equipment at every step of the way. He has a calm and relaxing manner which does certainly help. So, if you do want to give it a go, it will be worth having a look – his website is mentioned earlier, this is his facebook page and he even did a piece for LifeStyle:MK about how he got into reflexology : Lifestyle:MK New Year, New You

Leave a Reply

