Fit for a night in

STOP RIGHT NOW!

STOP IT!

DO NOT READ THIS !

SPOILERS WILL BE THROWN AROUND WITH WANTON ABANDON!

I am working with Click putting on a new show, Lifestyle:MK at Secklow sounds, and as part of this, I was tasked with reviewing movies that you might watch as part of a girls night in and I wanted to watch a couple of different genres. To this end, I chose the latest re working of Cinderella, Babadook and a Walk of Shame.

I will start with Cinderella as it was the first film that I watched.

I am not sure about you, but I LOVE fairy tales, they were the subject of my thesis at University, and of course, which little girl didn’t watch the Disney classic and want their own fairy godmother? Now I watched the reviews surrounding the film on release, although all I really remember is comments on the tiny waist. So I did go into the movie with a relatively clear head (although I was distracted by the waist, I will be honest!) and was hoping for something magical. However there have been many retelling of the classic tale and is there really anything new to add…..

Well…. sorry to say… no. No there wasn’t. As you can imagine this was not a great start to my movie triptych as I really was hoping to be swept away in the romance, the fairy tale, to be moved emotionally, to engage with poor Ella’s plight, tales of misfortune, of greed, of ugly hearted step sisters. It didn’t really start well for me, elements of the classic tale were sprinkled around. But it all went downhill the moment the Stepmother and Step sisters were introduced, I couldn’t help but think of Tweedle Dee and Tweedle Dum from the outset and this wasn’t the last Alice in Wonderland reference – there is a lot of Tim Burton in this movie. Which while I appreciate it is hard to make your own mark on a movie these days, the elements were almost lifted from other movies rather than a nod to them. Baz Luhrman’s Romeo & Juliet and Moulin Rouge. There was also a confusion of date, with the Stepmother seeming to favour a 1950’s look and everyone around her going for a more classical renaissance wardrobe.

When we finally see Elle arrive at the ball – I am hoping, this will be it, THIS WILL BE THE MOMENT…. and … although there was some beautiful shots of her dancing with her prince, the dress was …. pretty. It was poofy, it sparkles, it made her waist look tiny. It should have been a fairy tale of epic proportions… but really did fail to live up to its own story.

Next I watched Walk of Shame. I approached this with trepidation having made the mistake of watching Bridesmaids… well I lasted 15 minutes before i had to switch over (i am not a 15 year old boy, toilet humour is a turn off). But I have to say, it was a really enjoyable, female led cast to which most of us, to some degree can relate to. I don’t mean crossing a freeway, or having your car impounded, but it was more what these things represented. I have to say that the set up of the movie was good. Unlike Cinderella that seems to spend a very long time setting up her father’s remarriage and her descent to servitude, Walk of Shame tidied it up very quickly, with a job interview which set up the type of person they needed to protagonist to be. Within the first 15 mins of the film, we see her interview, have a test as a co-anchor for a news show, and go home to find that her boyfriend has moved out, and to top it off, a leak telling her she hasn’t got the job… So what does a girl do… well her friends take her out to drown her sorrows. And it is what happens after that will make you grin, wince, cry, laugh, and aww. It is funny, not always in a laugh out loud way, you really do feel for her. And honestly, the girl can run in heels so she has my utter respect.

At the end of the day, she gets the boy, kinda, her friends rescue her (Girl power) and while she managed to realise that the job as a co anchor in a conservative TV station may not be for her, she is offered another job. Which helps you realise that while things may not always go the way you think they should …. things do have a habit of working out!

Lastly, I watched Babadook, which is the horror film I felt would be perfect to round the evening off *disclaimer I did not watch all the movies in one sitting*. I didn’t really know what to expect from this movie, it was a recommendation from a friend who gave no hints. Now Babadook is an anagram of A Bad Book. And the book itself is pretty horrifying, not only in the content but that it just keeps coming back. What I found especially uncomfortable at the beginning of the film was the child. He was aggressive and wasn’t able to communicate his concerns, didn’t understand social interactions and left his mother frazzled. As the film progresses, things start to click into place, the mother in the scenario is a single parent who lost her husband when he drove her to the hospital to give birth to her son. So it makes a little more sense that the relationship at times, becomes strained. There are hints dropped that she had to give up a fulfilling career following a change in circumstances and now struggles financially. She doesn’t have many friends, feeling out of place even when with her sister because of this and her son’s behaviour. When the book entered their life – it seemingly appears on her son’s bookshelf, it is a focal point for all her frustrations and anxiety. It was an absorbing film and I dare say, a psychological horror more than anything else. It leaves a little ambiguity right up until the end of the movie – at least for me, and doesn’t tie things up too nicely 🙂

If you have watched any of these movies, and have any thoughts please drop me a line! If you haven’t, and plan to, let me know!

And any suggestions for other movies for me to try, please! I am always looking for recommendations!!

Leave a Reply

